1990 25 HP Mariner - exhaust spitting water?

BigEdV

Cadet
OK so I have two questions - First I was getting the boat ready for winter (only had the boat a few months so this is my first time). I had the boat running in the back yard, in a pail of water to run the fuel out of it and I noticed that the exhaust ports had some water spiting out with the exhaust. It is not a stream just spits some water out. I have a great stream from the "pee hole" so I think that is fine just not sure if the water spitting out the exhaust ports is normal or something I should be concerned with.
Second when I drained the lower unit there was some of oil was a little cloudy. I have ready that water in the oil will be milky or coffee with cream looking. I would not say mine was milky or coffee with cream but not sure if the little cloudy should be something to worry about. I did have the impeller changed and new gaskets installed earlier this year before I took it out and the lower unit oil was changed at that time.

Thanks for any advice.

redjmp

Chief Petty Officer
Re: 1990 25 HP Mariner - exhaust spitting water?

Water coming out the exhaust is normal. Oil that gets a little cloudy is nothing to be alarmed about so long as it gets changed at the end of the season. When it starts to get milky thats when you need to start thinking about replacing the seals in the lower unit.

jerryjerry05

Supreme Mariner

Cloudy oil could just be air mixed in it.Drain the oil and let it set in a container that is clean.After a couple of hours see if the cloudy has gone away.If not the cloudy is probably water and it needs to be attended to NOW not after the season has ended.Or the season might end sooner than you think.Any water can cost you a lower unit.J

redjmp

Chief Petty Officer