1989 Trophy 24' - Jetski Lift Project

LakeMichiganBoater

Petty Officer 2nd Class
So I just purchased a 1989 Bayliner Trophy 24' cuddy cabin and my game plan is to mount and carry my jetski on the rear of it as well as be able to launch it from the boat. Preliminary thoughts are using a "truck crane" and sling while adding a support system inside the rear of the transom. I am a skilled welder and plan to make this structure out of welded steel.

My concern is the weight of the mounts and jetski on the rear of the boat. Being a fiberglass boat there is no real metal structure to weld into, so I think my best bet is to weld a structure that disperses the weight to different parts on the transom and deck. This would be needed for the crane mount also as there is no way just bolting a crane to fiberglass would hold up, so the crane would have to be bolted to the metal structure. I will try to draw this out and upload the picture to give a better idea of what I am thinking.

My big question is how much weight can I put on the top of the transom? the rear deck floor? the sides?

The jetski I would mount is about 3'x7' and weighs under 400lbs (its small). I suspect the metal and crane would add another 100lbs at least.

I know a lot of places sell jetski mounts for the swim deck, but I really do not trust the swim deck to hold 400 pounds and put all that weight pushing into the transom, would much rather mount it on the top rear of the deck.

FunInDuhSun

Chief Petty Officer
I have a friend who has a removable crane mounted on the foredeck of his boat to lift a dinghy on and off the bow. Big difference is that boat is a 41’ Silverton yacht that weighs 25,000 pounds. Remember that all boats are designed for a given weight and buoyancy and changing that significantly can make it unstable or perform poorly.