1989 Quadrajet 4 barrel with inconsistent start up isses...

rhillman75

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I have a 1989 Regal Ambassador 233xl with a 5.7 Mercruiser with a Rochester Quadrajet. Full rebuild was finished 1 year with phenomenal results. My biggest issue and the cause of scratching my head is that sometimes when starting whether cold or warm, it either starts right up or I have to crank it 2 or 3 times and let it crank for up to 2 seconds. When it sits at the dock for upwards of a week, sometimes I can return to it and it will start right up without pumping the throttle. Same scenario another week later and it requires up to 2 to 3 pumps before it will start. The only issues when the engines is warm are at times I need to pump the throttle or crank 2 to 3 times. Some have told me to pump it no matter if the engine is warm or cold. I have had 3 rebuilders re-check each others work and all specs are within tolerance and it has a new float. They have offered a refund, but a refund won't solve the issue. Does anyone have this style of carb and if so, what characteristics have you seen from yours? The idle mix screws are at 2 turns out from seat position and the idle screw is 2 turns in from throttle lever contact. These are the 2 settings that the carb was at prior to rebuild. Thoughts???

Rick Stephens

Admiral
Idle mixture screws should be adjusted to the motor, when warm, for best mix, not for what it used to be set to. And if you have the choke set correctly it should not need pumping, IMHO.

I have some of the same inconsistentcies, I store and work on the boat in my shop at 3600 ft elevation. I use the boat at 1600 ft or lower. Having a choke, let alone setting the choke is mostly irrelevant at the higher elevation since the boat runs rich at home. So I have to reset all those in the water if I want it right.

My point isn't that you have elevation issues, only that the carb needs to be properly adjusted. It doesn't sound like it is correct right now.