1988 Mariner 90 hp 3 cyl running issue

Traceyh

Seaman
Ok, to start, I am a Honda technician in their motorcycle line, so I consider myself a fairly good mechanic.

Heres my problem

I have a 1988 90 hp Mariner 3 cylinder outboard.
I have gone through the fuel system, the carbs are clean, all jets and air passages are clear, float levels set, fuel pump working properly, primer bulb stays firm during running.

Ignition system, I have spark at all times, as indicated by an inductive timing light, and an inductive tachometer. I have replaced the spark plugs with new NGK plugs of the type that was already in it.

I just bought the boat, took it out for the first time. Pulled away from the dock, accelerated up to speed, was running fine, all of the sudden I dropped a cylinder, it began missing very badly on one cyclinder, and at times, another cylinder would drop out. I removed the spark plugs out on the water, and they looked ok, but as you already know, plugs can fool you. I didnt have any replacement with me at the time, so I limped it back to the trailer.
Got it home, put on the muffs, and engine is missing badly, but timing light and tach show spark on all cylinders.
When I removed the carbs, I also inspected the reed valves at that time, and all were intact and in good shape. I ran a compression test also, with 105 PSI on all cylinders, multiple test on each cylinder.
I already know I need to get a manual, which I plan on doing.
I have a DVA adapter on the way from CDI Electronincs, for testing the the trigger voltages from the stator, and from the "switch box" to the coils.
Now heres my thoughts so far.
I never "seem" to lose spark on any cylinder, however it continues to "miss".

Is the switch box giving a pulse to the coil at the wrong time?
Could it be bad fuel? ( I dont know how long the fuel has been in there, but it ran great for the first 3-5 minutes, then failed.)
What other problems could I be overlooking, as I havent done a lot of outboards?