1987 Johnson 70 VRO froze!

Leopoldo

Seaman
I am new to this forum and I am amazed on how knowledgable and generous the forum members are. I just purchase a 16" Waccamaw McKee 16 foot boat with this 70 VRO Johnson. Very little info other than it was last registered in 2000 when the motor froze. It has been sitting ever since with the second owner before I bought it. It was a trade for the second owner. He knows little about boats and motors, similair to myself.<br /><br />Questions: <br />Is it worth fixing?<br /><br />Any logical reasons why it froze?<br /><br />What would be the first procedure in determining it's value (to see if it is repairable)?<br /><br />And finally I am new to the 70 Johnson VRO outboard. What does OMC and VRO mean on this 3 cylinder Johnson?<br /><br />After reading a bit through the forums, I am guessing that the oil injection failed (VRO)! <br /><br />Thanks in advance for any help.

G DANE

Commander
Re: 1987 Johnson 70 VRO froze!

If it seized running, it may have overheated badly,or ran out of oil. If it froze sitting, maybe a leaking headgasket left cooling water in one cylinder and it rusted. If it froze sitting, it may be water in lower unit, blocking lower unit. It might not be powerhead at all, then. Fixable ?? Depends on damage. I would take a good look inside sparkplugholes with a pennlight, then drop lower unit and see if its the powerhead. If it is, off with the head and take a look at cylinders.

G DANE

Commander

Almost forgot - Welcome here and tell us what you found.

Leopoldo

Seaman

Thanks for the information G Dane, that will be a great start. It is a first step.

Leopoldo

Seaman

Also does anyone know if a 1986 70HP JOHNSON VRO is interchangeable (indentical) with a 1987 70HP JOHNSON VRO?

D

DJ

OMC=Outboard Marine Corporation. OMC went out of business in 2001 and was bought up by Bombardier who is now producing Johnson/Evinrude.<br /><br />VRO=Variable Ratio Oiling.

Leopoldo

Seaman