1986 25 hp Mercury XD

scurtis76

Cadet
Gentlemen,

I have an 86 25hp Merc XD long shaft that lost some power. It starts up fine but when I put in gear and go full throttle the engine sounds like she's moving good but just doesnt go full speed. Every now and again it will all of the sudden kick in and go full speed but that is not often. She started doing this half way through the season and as it progressed she basically stopped kicking in to full speed and just revs like its going. The prop spins and the RPMs seem to be good. I replaced the prop last season (2006) and the fuel filter and fuel line this season (2007). Any ideas? I'm in the SE Mass area and would love to get this engine up and runnig before the stripers start running. Thanks.

Steve

jbjennings

Captain
Re: 1986 25 hp Mercury XD

I'm almost certain (the way you described it) that you have a coil going out.
I have an '8425xd and had the same problem. Runs great now.
JBJ

scurtis76

Cadet

OK. Im a novice when it comes to small engine repair so please talk to me like I'm 3.. What coil are you speaking of? Is it an easy repair with a manual? or should I bite the bullet and bring it to a shop? Thanks.

Steve

jbjennings

Captain

Well,