1984 Evinrude 30hp starts but won't stay started.

Gorilla978

Cadet
I just bought a 1975 Carolina skiff with an 1984 30hp Evinrude. Try as I might I cannot get the engine to stay running. I got a new tank/lines/fittings/fuel pump/primer solenoid/spark plugs/etc etc. It will start and run for a few seconds but will eventually just die. If I depress the choke ever few seconds it will remain started. Which led me to believe its not getting fuel to the carb. I disconnected the line to the carb and squeezed the bulb and sure enough plenty of fuel came spraying out, next I disconnected the spark plugs and cranked the engine a few times and there was not a constant supply of fuel coming from the fuel pump so I know what you are thinking it must be the fuel pump but it was just recently replaced so this just confuses me more. I am just getting into boating so 2 stroke engines confuse me.<br /><br />Thanks for any info.<br />-Mike<br /><br />P.S. Yes I already searched dozens of posts for help.

umblecumbuz

Lieutenant Junior Grade
Re: 1984 Evinrude 30hp starts but won't stay started.