1978 35 hp Johnson performance question: guesstimate is fine

Jezebel

Recruit
Hi, all: I'm on the verge of buying a 1978 Johnson 35 hp OB for a pontoon boat and a few general questions concern me. I'm new at this so expect a few dumb questions: (1) Is this an electronic-ignition engine? (2) What would be the estimated fuel consumption for pushing about 5,000 pounds at about half throttle (forward progress doesn't matter)? i.e., Half gallon an hour? Gallon? (3) Compared to a 15 hp Johnson, to do the same, any guess at how much more it would consume? i.e., Twice as much? Quarter as much? Maybe 10-20% more? Thanks.

scanman

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: 1978 35 hp Johnson performance question: guesstimate is fine

My best guesstimate:
The larger motor, combined with the larger prop(pushin more water), should allow you to push the same amount of weight at the same speed, but use less throttle. Even though that motor uses more fuel, you shouldn't have to buy any more or less fuel....IMHO.
Also, I think the points style ignition systems went away in '76.

Jezebel

Recruit

My best guesstimate:
The larger motor, combined with the larger prop(pushin more water), should allow you to push the same amount of weight at the same speed, but use less throttle. Even though that motor uses more fuel, you shouldn't have to buy any more or less fuel....IMHO.
Also, I think the points style ignition systems went away in '76.