1977 Johnson - Newbie Questions - fuel/oil ration, command center etc - advice

spencroy

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Hello - I am a newbie and this is my first boat, very limited experience. I have some basic questions, and I am having trouble finding it on the forms.

1. I would like to know the fuel/oil ratio for my engine:
Johnson 115 HP - Model 115EL775

2. I am having trouble finding articles when I search the forms. Are there any suggestions on the best way to search on this form?

3. My throttle, ignition etc are contained within the "Johnson Command Center". I took this apart as part of debugging another issue, but when I did I dropped a little ball bearing which was between a spring and a cog-ish looking thing (wish I knew the name of stuff). Anyway, in another thread I saw someone mention that if you have a hex wrench that is not a very big deal. However, when I tried this AM to remove the hex screw from the port side of the command center it appears to be stuck in place.
- Is there a trick to removing that hex bolt (or is it just rusted in place)?
- Does anyone have a diagram of that command center?
- Does anyone know if the SELOC manual for the 1977 would cover the command center?

Thanks for any help/suggestions.

rudedude

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: 1977 Johnson - Newbie Questions - fuel/oil ration, command center etc - advice

Gas / oil is 50:1 One pint to 6 us gallons.

The manuals only cover the moters that I know of.

Hex head is rusted in I would think, try PB blaster.

Get a clymers manual.

ezeke

Supreme Mariner
Re: 1977 Johnson - Newbie Questions - fuel/oil ration, command center etc - advice

Edit

Last edited:

spencroy

Petty Officer 3rd Class

Thanks for the advice guys. I was able to get the command center back together and got that ball back in place.