1975 johnson 25hp keeps trashing primary

mdcwells

Seaman Apprentice
I have a 1975 johnson outboard with electric start. I got hosed on an ebay deal and learned a lot (Don't buy from Rogers Marine in Wisconsin) The motor is electric start but did not have the boat side cable. Being an electronic tech I had no problem grabbing a clymers and wiring a new ignition switch. I gutted the wiring on the motor side and run new wiring. It seems to work real well for long periods of time but than I lose my coil under the flywheel. Twice now it has blown the coil. I am going to add an in line fuse from my key switch 12V to try and curb the problem. I cannot find any shorts or grounds in the system. What am I missing?

tashasdaddy

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: 1975 johnson 25hp keeps trashing primary

make sure you are not getting a cross feed of 12 volts, on the kill wires. 12 volts directly to a coil will fry in a minute. voice of experience. crossed a wire under the dash.
boatmotor0012.jpg

F_R

Supreme Mariner

I have a 1975 johnson outboard with electric start. I got hosed on an ebay deal and learned a lot (Don't buy from Rogers Marine in Wisconsin) The motor is electric start but did not have the boat side cable. Being an electronic tech I had no problem grabbing a clymers and wiring a new ignition switch. I gutted the wiring on the motor side and run new wiring. It seems to work real well for long periods of time but than I lose my coil under the flywheel. Twice now it has blown the coil. I am going to add an in line fuse from my key switch 12V to try and curb the problem. I cannot find any shorts or grounds in the system. What am I missing?

What 12 volts?? It is not supposed to be seeing any external voltage. The primary coil generates it's own electricity as the flywheel magnets pass by it. If you are feeding it 12V, that is the problem.

daselbee

Commander