1974 Evinrude 115hp v4

Hi everyone, I'm rebuilding 2 old boats. I'm new to this and I'm learning a lot. I just got done rewiring 2 of the boats and did some repairs on the engines. Really enjoyed it. One of the engines water tubes a smashed. I have some questions if you don't mind answering. I have some extra water tubes they are in another engine I have that I wanted to rebuild. So my question... Would you/Could you repair the water tubes or replace them. My mind has tons of ideas how to repair them. Just don't know if they're right.
1: Cut the copper and solder a new piece on? I don't have the grommets it's the old style type.
2: Glue on some type of flexible tubing? Like Polaris pool hose or heater hose.
3: Or cut the smashed copper off and install the grommets, and hope for the best.

Another Question. I don't have water going out of the ports so, do you have to wait until the engine heats up before water returns? My other engine the water returns right when I turn the water on.

Thanks

Attachments

• IMG_0048.jpg
    IMG_0048.jpg
    562.6 KB · Views: 7
Last edited:

saltchuckmatt

Commander
Hi everyone, I'm rebuilding 2 old boats. I'm new to this and I'm learning a lot. I just got done rewiring 2 of the boats and did some repairs on the engines. Really enjoyed it. One of the engines water tubes a smashed. I have some questions if you don't mind answering. I have some extra water tubes they are in another engine I have that I wanted to rebuild. So my question... Would you/Could you repair the water tubes or replace them. My mind has tons of ideas how to repair them. Just don't know if they're right.
1: Cut the copper and solder a new piece on? I don't have the grommets it's the old style type.
2: Glue on some type of flexible tubing? Like Polaris pool hose or heater hose.
3: Or cut the smashed copper off and install the grommets, and hope for the best.