1973 Evinrude 65hp Water pump

magicnov

Seaman Apprentice
This motor was new to me last year. It ran beautifully, but I don't know when the water pump was last changed, so I'm thinking that it would be wise to replace it. I'm a rookie to outboards, but pretty handy and I've got the manual. Is this a fairly straight forward job, or am I better off leaving it to a pro?

HighTrim

Supreme Mariner
Re: 1973 Evinrude 65hp Water pump

Not a problem at all, especially with a manual. The hardest part (which is not hard at all) will be dropping the lower unit. It is a wise decision indeed to service the water pump. I would also reccomend flushing the cooling system while the lu is down, as well as cleaning out the intake area of debris. This video may also help. Good luck.

http://www.meegsonline.com/tmd/waterpump.wmv

water pump.jpg

magicnov

Seaman Apprentice

Hi Chris,

Thanks for the link it's a great help! Couple of questions: When reinstalling the lower unit, do you need to replace any seals between the upper and lower units? Is dropping the lower unit just a matter or unbolting it? And is the reinstall to the upper unit as simple as aligning the driveshaft and shift rod back into the upper unit before reassembly? Lastly, any suggestions on where to get a replacement impellor (#0382547)? Thanks for the advice,

David

ezeke

Supreme Mariner

You will want to be sure that the exhaust seal is in place and in good condition. It is just behind the water pump.

While the lower unit is off, it is a good opportunity to have the gearcase pressure tested.

There are seven bolts to be removed, including the one that holds the trim tab in place. You have to remove the trim tab to get to the bolt that is hidden above it. Be sure to mark the location of the trim tab so that you can put it back as it was.

Your nearest BRP dealer is the best place to get the impeller.

http://dealerlocator.evinrude.com/EN/?Rnd=1200841318187