1973 25hp evinrude oil in exhaust and idle issues

anthill

Cadet
Hi all,I have spent hours reading these forums and learned a lot. I have limited outboard repair experience but am trying.
This motor starts easily enough accelerates to wot with a stutter, shake at about 1/2 to 3/4 throttle. But it struggles to run at idle slow enough to shift into gear without slamming the lower unit. Got to be quick or it dies.
I have cleaned rebuilt the carb. It was spotless no varnish no corrosion nothing. I pulled the #5 core plug to clean the slow speed passages, nothing. I did not remove the #4 plug, should I? I did not replace the needle bearing just found out about it tonight on an old post. Needle valve looked fine. Float and seat and valve looked fine. reinstalled according to service manual. parallel and 1/16 above gasket. Spark will jump 1/2 to 5/8 across a Thexton spark tester. Installed new Champion UJ6J plugs instead of the UJ4J. Set the needle valve open one turn per the manual, changing the opening does not seem to have any effect untill it just shuts down. Adjusted the throttle cam follower. The plugs are very wet with a black fuel mix after a few minutes of run time and the barrel is covered in black oil. I run the motor in a 50 gallon barrel for short durations. I have at least 3 questions.
What next? What tool do you recommend for a compression test? What tool do you use for RPM's?

jimmbo

Supreme Mariner
What ratio are you mixing gas-oil?

Are the points gapped properly?

F_R

Supreme Mariner
Remove the fuel pump from motor (don't disconnect the hoses). Now give the primer bulb a squeeze. If gas comes out the backside of the pump, the pump diaphragm is shot and flooding a cylinder.

Those are not clean-running motors, and you will never get it to stop producing black gunk in a barrel. But it will be a lot better if you get it running properly. Or on a boat where it was designed to run.

Last edited:

anthill

Cadet