1967 75hp carb problem

Bo0YaA

Cadet
My father has an old boat he is thinking of donating to the kidney foundation due to what the repairs are going to cost him. I picked it up today from the guy who quoted me $450.00 to rebuild the carbs. This is way out of his price range being on a fixed income and all. I have had a lot of experience rebuilding ATV carbs and was wondering if they are similar enough that I could do it. The carb model number is WB1B and I not been able to find much about about the motor its self. The model is a 7573 and the serial number is 2480 as per the plate. It has 127 lbs of compression per cylinder and would really like to get it running for him. When I mentioned I was considering the rebuild myself, the guy told me if I don't know 100% what I'm doing I can render the carb useless. Not sure if he was just trying to scare me into paying him the $450.00 or if he was being honest. That's why I came to you guys. Also, it has a 19 pitch prop on it and living at 5000ft and recreating around 6500 ft he said I needed a 13 pitch prop is this correct? if so, can anybody tell me what years cross reference? Thanks in advance to whom ever is kind enough to help me out.

Dave

jerryjerry05

Supreme Mariner
Re: 1967 75hp carb problem

$450 just for cleaning the carbs or re-building them?Either way still pricey.
Take them apart and clean them.Don't change anything!!! If they look like there is something too corroded or broken,post some pics.
Most time they just need a good cleaning(depending on corrosion) and new hoses.Also change the pump diaphram as it's probably gonna go soon if it isin't already bad.
Change ALL the hoses and squeezie.Add a filter between the carb and the pump.
The prop should be fit to the boat.Need to know what size boat,How many RPM at wot?
The 13 pitch is probably for a pontoon.
Do a compression/spark test.Post the results and photos and the your profile

huskerdaninva

Petty Officer 1st Class