1964 evinrude starlite 90 s lower unit frozen

I recently bought a boat that has a 1964 starflite 90 s outboard motor. I bought it on ebay and went from illinois to kentucky to pick it up. The guy who sold it to me said it ran six months ago, and he said that after I paid him and left him good feedback. I got it home and bought a new marine battery for it, hooked it up, and turned it over by jumping the starter to see if it would turn... The motor was frozen up, and by the way the teeth looked on the starter, someone had tried many times to do the same thing. I decided to take the lower unit off to see if it was the gearcase or the motor that was frozen. When I took the lower unit off, the motor began to turn freely. I can not turn the prop or the shaft even with the lower unit off the motor, however the motor started, with a little grinding from the starter pinion gear. I am not a marine mechanic, but I am great with cars. My question is: does anyone know where I can get a diagram so that I may try to rebuild the lower unit? And where can I get the parts? Also what engines would have the correct lower unit with non hydro electric shift? Does anyone have a new or used starter for this motor? Maybe it is something that happens when you let it sit for too long, how would I fix it? I also need the wiring diagram for the key switch to start the motor, the seller did not have a key for the boat. Are there any common problems with this outboard I should know about? Also I need the wiring diagram for the motor to replace old wiring. Will the lower unit lock up with no power running to it? Please help me

iwombat

Captain
Re: 1964 evinrude starlite 90 s lower unit frozen