1962 Evinrude 28HP Outboard help

SS0DEN

Recruit
I purchased a 1962 Sears baot with a 28HP Evinrude outboard engine. I have been having problems with the engine since day 1 which was about 60 days ago....

I am wondering if anyone here can walk me through the steps to cure my problem. I have a lot of engine experience but no outboard engine experience... Thanks in advance.

Problem:
The engine feels sputtery and at low idle and will stall often, I find myself choking the engine to start it even when it's warmed up. The engine has new plug. The lower end is in good shape with new oil, I do not believe the lower end is the issue... When you open to full throttle, the engine will pull ok then back off a little, it wont stall but it also will not run correctly and continue to sputter, the sputter will decrease as the engine warms but will always remain there.

My gut tells me carb issue, but could it be a points issue or worse yet a bad engine (cracked block). When the engine warms up it runs a bit better, when I stop the engine there is fine trail of gas in the water that appears to exit the exhaust in the water, I assume this is normal because after all it is a 2 stroke.

Please advise me on how to trouble shoot this problem.

F_R

Supreme Mariner
Re: 1962 Evinrude 28HP Outboard help

I purchased a 1962 Sears baot with a 28HP Evinrude outboard engine. I have been having problems with the engine since day 1 which was about 60 days ago....

I am wondering if anyone here can walk me through the steps to cure my problem. I have a lot of engine experience but no outboard engine experience... Thanks in advance.

Problem: