1958 Evinrude 35 leaking foamy fuel, and no power.

55Crestliner

Petty Officer 2nd Class
This is sort of a 2 part thread.

I have this 35 horse Evinrude Lark that I just ran at the lake for the first time today. Brought it home, and put it in the barrel to run.

Did not run up fast enough, something is definitely wrong.

I noticed a frothy blue liquid (obviously gas/oil mix) accumulating and dripping at the shift lever.

Obviously, I have a seal/gasket of some sort leaking. I can not find any trace of this gas coming from the filter glass. And being that it's whitish, it must be getting partially combusted I'd guess.

Is this a concern? Is this causing a lack of power?
It is VERY slow on my lightweight 1956 aluminum 14 foot Crestliner.
It ALMOST gets on plane, but takes a long while to get there - it is not revving anywhere near 4500 as it should with stock prop.

Just a little background -
I'm new to this particular motor. It was free.
I have not done a link/sync yet.
I have not done a carb rebuild.
I have done a carbon cleaning.
It has evidence of overheating - paint is baked off of the head area. (I replaced the impeller, all is good now for that)
It has good compression - about 105-110 in both.

I did not have a tach on it yet (ordered one).
I did not have a speedo.

Just took the flywheel off, and ONE of the coils is the old resin type, and it is cracking with chunks falling off. (I'll get 2 new ones, plus wires, condensers, points).

Attachments

• August2709 015.jpg
    August2709 015.jpg
    80 KB · Views: 0
  • August2709 016.jpg
    August2709 016.jpg
    72.4 KB · Views: 0
  • August2709 018.jpg
    August2709 018.jpg
    75.8 KB · Views: 0

kbait

Commander
Re: 1958 Evinrude 35 leaking foamy fuel, and no power.

I'd first refurb the ignition and confirm w/spark tester (search johnnyrude forums and you'll find how to make a cheap, effective one.)