1955 Johnson QD-16 so close..........

OldSmoky

Recruit
Hey there! I am completely new to boating and have a few questions. I recently inherited one of these wonderful motors from my grandfather. I found a 2-line tank that was in great shape and holds pressure well. I put together a new fuel/air line and it is doing a great job getting fuel to the carb. However, it doesn't seem to be getting past that point. Again I am completely new at this (and engine repair in general) and don't really know the names of all the parts yet. The reason I say it isn't getting past the carb is because my sparkplugs are completely dry. When I get it to fire it sounds promising for a few seconds then dies out. I tore apart the carb and the cork float seems to function fine. I fiddled with the high speed and low speed needle things as well. Any help at all would be GREATLY appreciated!!! Getting this motor running means so much to me. Sure, I could go buy a new one but it isn't about that. Well, if you have any tips please let me know. I thank you for your time.

rickdb1boat

Supreme Mariner
Re: 1955 Johnson QD-16 so close..........

Did you actually clean the passages out in the carb with carb cleaner and blow them out with compressed air? Sounds like it's still clogged up..

tmcalavy

Rear Admiral

Sounds like a carb cleaning is needed. Not too difficult on those older, simpler carbs. Pull it, disassemble, clean...make it spotless, re-assemble, re-install then follow the basic carb adjustments posted on this forum. If you don't want to mess with, a local small engine/mower shop will probably do it for a few $$.

eavega

Lieutenant