1950 Evinrude, shift or no shift?

MSKYHNTR

Recruit
Hi everybody I'm new to the world of outboards but have an extensive back ground with mechanics. I just bought a 1950 Evinrude Model# 4434 serial #17926 7.5 hp fleetwin and the prop will not disengauge with the clutch knob in the up or down position. I thinks me got rooked on Ebay! I have a original parts catolog and it does not show any kind of shifter on it at all. So,with that being said...I assume that when the knob is up it is disenguaged and when it is down it is enguaued or vise versa?I also need coils for this and a carb kit,Tillotson MD 34 B. I also need a carb kit for my Scott Atwater model #1-20 serial# 51307497,it is a Tillotson MD 36 B. I want to rebuild them both and run them on me '65 12' Aerocraft. Any help at all would be great! :confused:

Chinewalker

Fleet Admiral
Re: 1950 Evinrude, shift or no shift?