120 Mercruiser no reverse

uponahill

Cadet
In need of some advise/help I'm No boat mechanic .. we have a 1982 120 Mercruiser I changed the lower unit (new) in forward gear it ratchets CW, it locks CCW but I can turn it with force .. in neutral it spins both ways clicks CW clunks CCW .. in reverse it spins both ways clicks CW and clicks CCW very slightly low noise clicks .. I'm lost as to what to do next .. this problem didn't start until I changed the lower unit .. shift shoe is facing forward those parts are snug no slop

uponahill

Cadet
this may help, when I go from full 'forward' to neutral it clicks one way clunks the other.. when I go from full 'reverse' to neutral it spins silent forward and reverse

alldodge

Staff member
My guess is you didn't have the shift foot held straight forward, while the prop was locked in CCW direction, so the shift foot is a bit off. Need to remove drive, place throttle in full forward, drop lower unit and rotate the shift shaft so the prop locks in CCW direction. Then reinstall the lower drive section

uponahill

Cadet
when I dropped the lower unit throttle was in full forward gear that's what I cant figure out, what, if anything I did wrong

alldodge

Staff member
The shift shaft on the lower section needs to be rotated so the prop locks in the CCW direction. Once there, the lower is installed in the upper with the shift foot in the upper section held in the forward direction.

My guess, is there was a mismatch in the two pieces being put together

uponahill

Cadet
OK! Thanks! (I really don't want to pull that thing apart again I'm getting to old for this crap lol) I'll do that tomorrow and update Thanks! and my G-Dad 3 war veteran, passed years ago from a nose bleed God Bless him "Navy" told me once "The first liar is always the first to fall"

kenny nunez

Captain