Type of anchor

bigskydrift

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I bought a mushroom type anchor for my new 14' Alumacraft fishing boat. Since I purcgased it, I saw on TV that this type of anchor "sucks" down into the mud, and they said that to release it, you must get in the water and get ahold of the anchor to "unstick" it.....well, I didn't intened to get into scuba diving just so I could pull anchor! Most of the lakes I will go to have a mud / sand and/or fine gravel bottom, most of the lakes being less than 60' deep. What type anchor would be best for this?

QC

Supreme Mariner
Re: Type of anchor

I'd use some type of Danforth. Long sharp flukes seem to work best for a wide variety of bottoms.

bigskydrift

Petty Officer 2nd Class

Thanks QC - I am a novice, will do a search on 'Danforth'so I can get an idea of what they look like.....

QC

Supreme Mariner