advice on water pump change

vetstudent

Seaman Apprentice
I have a 96' 40 hp, 4cyl mercury tracker that I bought used about four years ago. I noticed the last few times I took it out the water output from the "peehole" gauge was pretty weak but sufficient to keep it cool while running (moving anyway). Well with duck and deer season approaching I decided I should replace the water pump. I have a few questions that I was wondering if ya'll could answer. First off I have no idea of the maintainance of the motor before I got it. In all likelyhood the water pump on it is original (96). Also I'm a full time veterinary student that is VERY POOR!!! I spend money if I need to but try to be economical!!! The questions are as follows:<br /><br />1) Should I just replace the impeller or get the whole kit? (impeller $9, kit $57) Of course I'd like to get away with just the impeller but if it will likely fail sooner because I failed to get the whole kit I won't like that in the long run.<br /><br />2) Do I need a manual to do it? I am fairly good with motors (carbs and all the upper unit stuff) but I've never messed with a lower unit. I really don't think I need one personally... anybody do it without one???<br /><br />3) What other things should I do while I'm in there. Obviously I'll be changing the lower gear lube, but will I need to replace any other gaskets that will be removed to get to the pump? I don't want to skimp on a $.50 gasket or drain plug!!!<br /><br />I'm sure I'll have other questions but I think I've covered a lot so far.<br /><br />Thanks!<br /><br />Brent

Laddies

Banned
Re: advice on water pump change

9 bucks sounds cheap for the imp, but most places sell an imp. kit that comes with the gaskets and wear plate water pump repair is simple, just make sure the shift shafts are in the same gear when replacing thr unit

Laddies

Banned

PS mark the trim tab and remove it they hide a bolt under it---bob

vetstudent

Seaman Apprentice