Retrieving Lost Motor

Uncle Mike

Cadet
My brother-in-law "lost" his 9hp kicker motor in about 25 feet down in very low visibility freshwater last Saturday.<br /><br />Don't ask how, 'cause I don't know, and I wasn't with him!! :rolleyes: <br /><br />Any ideas on how to locate it? Do you think it is worth looking for it?

Neonbee

Seaman
Re: Retrieving Lost Motor

I'm no pro at this Mike, but if you had a fish finder set on very sensative to show the bottom structure you could probably make it out.<br />Then all you need to do is get somebody thats into scuba diving to recover it or drag the area with a giant gaff hook.<br /><br />Good Luck!!

TheViking

Cadet

I agree, go to your local dive shop and ask somebody if they would be willing to go down and retrieve it. Most divers are looking for any reason to go diving and 25ft is a pretty shallow depth.

Uncle Mike

Cadet

Problem apparently is the visability. Diver on Sunday said he couldn't see his hand in front of his face after about 10-15 feet. Fish finder might help pinpoint it though.

bayman

Senior Chief Petty Officer

I think it depends on the mud on the bottom. If the water is mucky, then the bottom usually is. It may have sunk in really well and might be difficult to see on a fish finder. With some luck though, it might be visible.<br /><br />What about dragging a really strong magnet along that area? I'm not sure how much of the outboard would be magnetic, but that might work.<br /><br />I don't know about underwater metal detectors, but that would probably work, though the setup would likely be too expensive to be practical. Does anyone know about this...? Can you get a $100 Wolly World metal detector, waterproof the detector portion by sealing it in plastic, and running a wire to the boat where you have the "viewfinder" or whatever that is called. Then just use your fishfinder to help navigate... Sounds crazy but it might work.

Booner

Petty Officer 1st Class