First time boater and user

Danny_P_G

Seaman Apprentice
Hi all ,<br /><br />It's my first time on this forum and in fact its my first time ive purchased a boat as i am really keen and want to get it to boating ,<br /><br />I have just purchased an old Fletcher arrow 14 foot speed boat with an 33hp Johnson super sea horse engine Model: RXEL - 15C Serial : C520318 .<br /><br />I was just wondering is this engine ok for me to start out with as i dont really know much at all about them , I would appreciate any help regarding the engine , I had a look at the Year in the FAQ bit on here and i think the year is 1967 ? and should i mix the oil / fuel ratio at 50 /1 ? I had a play with Fuel line from the tank to the engine but cant seem to pump any fuel through it , Is this a common problem with them ? and will i need to replace it ? Also when i get round to starting it up , I want to start it up at home , so will a old drum be ok to use ( how much of the engine needs to be in water ??? )Are there any good online shops that i can purchase spares ??? I live in the UK.<br /><br />Thanks for taking time reading this and any help will be great !Looking forward to your replys

D

DJ

Re: First time boater and user

Danny,<br /><br />That's a good and simple engine. Very good for someone to "tinker" with.<br /><br />Replace the fuel line assembly. The "OMC" connections were common with newer OMC engines. Easy to find.<br /><br />A Barrel is fine. The water should be higher than the cavitation plate (plate above prop).<br /><br />50/1 is correct. Use TCW-3 rated oil-only.<br /><br />When you start it, make sure it is cooling. The top cylinder should NEVER get too hot to touch. About 140 degrees F.<br /><br />I'm not sure if iboats will ship to the UK, it's worth a shot.

wilde1j

Vice Admiral

Watch the flow direction arrow on the fuel primer bulb for correct orientation. It's easily possible to install backwards.

BoatBuoy

Rear Admiral