JOHNSON 70 HP STARTING PROBLEM

cpjohnson70

Cadet
I have a johnson 70HP around (1977-1980). I recently put my boat in the water but I have a hard time starting it. This is my first time putting the boat in the water this year. I have changed my spark plugs, and the lower gear unit oil. I don't know why It took me more than an hour to manually started my motor with a pulling rope. Somehow I cannot start it with my ignition key. I just bought a brand new battery with 1000 MCA. After the motor manually started, I have no trouble starting it with my key. Can you please let me know what seems to be the problem? What action to I have to take to fix this problem? Can you please help me with this problem. <br /><br />I think I have a bad starter or the battery required more CCA. But if I have a bad starter, then how come after I manually started the motor, I can use my key to start the motor. Please, please, please, Help me. I really appreciate for your time and your kindness.

JB

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: JOHNSON 70 HP STARTING PROBLEM

Hi, Jimmy.<br /><br />Welcome aboard. :) <br /><br />Go to the Engine FAQs and do the starting circuit troubleshooting in "Outboard wont start".<br /><br />Let us know what you find. My guess is that the ground cable bolted to the steel bypass cover is not making good contact.

cpjohnson70

Cadet

JB,<br /><br />I really appreciate your time for helping me! I will look into that.<br /><br />Thanks,<br />JP

rickdb1boat

Supreme Mariner

Next time you try to start it and it does that, tap lightly on the starter with a screwdriver handle and see if it goes... Worth a shot. Starter might have a small bad spot in it and once it starts, it moves enough to get by it. Might try the same thing on the selonoid, too.. Does it click or anything when you try to start it??? Also, are you using the choke when you try to start it cold??

cpjohnson70

Cadet