Why all the "De-carb" talk???

Cortes165

Seaman
This might be a dumb question, but I see people talking about this all the time. This is the first year i have owned my "own" boat so I'm just learning what should be done. Now I have snowmobiled for 20 years and have never heard of anyone "de-carbing" their sled engine. A 2 stroke is a 2 stroke??? I have taken my sled engines apart after 5 years of running and carbon is never a factor. Is it because outboards operate between 3-5000 rpm where a sled is a lot higher??? Just curious. Please educate me.

Dhadley

Supreme Mariner
Re: Why all the "De-carb" talk???

Actually you have it pretty much figured out. While a sled or bike can have the correct gearing from the factory so the motor is never lugged, an outboard isnt like that. Propping it out correctly is part of the initial set up.<br /><br />Setting a modern 2 stroke up to top out at 5000 will cause coking (carbon) rather quickly with todays fuel. Set the same motor up to top out near 6000 and the coking will take longer to form, if ever.<br /><br />Not a dumb question at all!

Stumpknocker

Senior Chief Petty Officer

Nope, I learned something too. I have never de-carbed my engine either. Guess the setup really sets the stage.

JB

Honorary Moderator Emeritus