New guy looking for help

jfinley

Recruit
I need some help on an 18HP Evinrude 1957 Fastwin. I will start out with an intro though. (Skip down to the bottom if you do not want to hear a story :) )<br /><br />I am new to this web site but have already been overwhelmed with the information I have gotten just by doing some searches. I belong to a fishing website in the Northwest and it is tradition that for a fist post, you have to tell a memorable story. This is mine, it happened to me today:<br /><br />I am a newlywed and we just bought our first boat and motor. I got the boat and motor for very cheap but with little information and history. I was expecting to have to do some work on it, and it turns out I was right. I took apart the lower end and checked the water pump, seals etc. I got it all put back together and my wife and I took it out this morning. Got it running and it sounded great and was running well. I got about 1/2 mile form the launch and it started to sound funny. I could tell that it was starting to overheat, so I killed it. No joke-as soon as I killed the motor, a downpour started! I felt like we were in a movie and this was a practical joke. Anyway, we (mostly myself) rowed back to the dock and were completley drinched. As soon as we got to the dock, the rain stopped! Just my luck. <br /><br />Now to my question: There is a thin metal plate that the impeller sits on in the water pump. The plate in my motor is bent and "oil canning". I cannot flatten it out. I need to replace it. I am hoping that someone might have an extra one that they could sell me. If I cannot find one, I will just buy a water pump kit. Thanks a ton for any help.

OBJ

Supreme Mariner
Re: New guy looking for help