Help Help for do it yourselfer

Bill kubiak

Chief Petty Officer
How do you check at home the Following to determine which is defective<br /><br />Power pak<br /><br />Charge coil<br /><br />sensor coil<br /><br />Ignition coil

phatmanmike

Captain
Re: Help Help for do it yourselfer

i use the manul, you should look into one if you dont, they explain all of that in detail

JB

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

Bill kubiak

Chief Petty Officer

I have a manual by Intertec, It gives an ohmms rating for the charge coil only and very little else, I have a Johnson J8RCUD it runs but not good It does not want to rev up without running rough

phatmanmike

Captain

more likely fuel related than electrical related....i think, i am no professional, just my 2 cents

JB

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

Aha!!<br /><br />So you do have a Johnson engine, and you have a problem.<br /><br />Your engine is a 1987 8HP, Bill.<br /><br />It probably is running on one cylinder, if I understand what running "rough" is. If that is the case, I think you are on the right track, looking into the ignition system.<br /><br />Give us more on what you have done and what has led you to what you are asking now.<br /><br />Moving this back to JohnnyRude troubles.

Bill kubiak

Chief Petty Officer