explanation sought!!!

rxl123

Cadet
I just don't get this, right. I have 70hp '83 evinrude. <br /><br />I premix the oil to the right quantities 50:1 in new fuel (both tanks). All spark plugs are in the same condition.<br /><br />But it smokes - and I mean quite a lot. It smokes on idle, and if I throttle up in neutral I get clouds of bluey smoke, and the occasional sneeze.<br /><br />I think it runs lumpy (but I haven't heard another to compare), and it stalls when engaging a gear.<br /><br />I can't believe that all three carbs are playing up at the same time, as evidencd by the identical spark plugs. Therefore I'm assuming this is not a carb problem, particularly as neither jets or mixture ( I believe) are adjustable.<br /><br />What else can cause smoke, or MUST it be the mixture in the can? I'm new to this boating lark, and while I think I'm doing it right, I may be missing something.<br /><br />Please guys - give me a steer here!

Jkurtz29

Seaman Apprentice
Re: explanation sought!!!

Do you have the right plugs going to the right spot?

rxl123

Cadet

Hey JKURTZ,<br /><br />The plugs are new and from a OMC dealer declared as correct. <br /><br />Don't understand what you mean by 'going to the right spot?

ob

Admiral

rxl123,There are several factors that can effect the performance of your engine.Your symptom off hand to me sounds like you may have some failed reeds.Insure that all of the fixed orifices in your carbs are clean and clear of any restrictions.Run a compression test on the engine and post the results and we can go from there.You'll also need to confirm the link and synch of your carburetor linkage.

oldboat1

Fleet Admiral