55 hp johnson

mufdyvr002

Cadet
Re: 55 hp johnson

i'm sorry.like i said i'm new to these type of motors. well, i found the head myself with further inspection. i went ahead and took it off and did see some rust. not as bad as i thought. i sprayed and sprayed and tried to turn. i went at it till it finally broke loose. the motor now turns free without a problem. i dont think i could have got this far without pulling the head. now i guess i will put the head back on and do a comp. test. can anyone tell me what is the norm on these motors? how about the torque specs with the tightening sequence. the prop turns when i spin it over and i'm not sure how to get it out of gear, and it is leaking oil from the prop shaft seal. i want to thank all you pros out there that have helped me.

Hooty

Rear Admiral

At this point, I'd wait for the manual.<br /><br />c/6<br /><br />Hooty

mufdyvr002

Cadet

comon hooty. be nice to me. it cant be that hard. i have everything i need right now cept the manual. all i want to do is a compression test. anyone else willing to help a beginner. thanks again everyone.

papasage

Senior Chief Petty Officer

the compression on mf 1979 55 hp is 125 lb. i just checked it last weak. go to the libary they will probabley have a manuel . my 1972 50hp is 14 to 16 after runing re tork to16 to18 ft. lb.this is a factiry manuel. i would think they would be the same .papasage......P.S...........i have another manul but it isnot here tonight . will check tomorrow .IF IT IS DIFFERENT iwil let you know.

alcan

Commander