1987 3.7L Mercruiser is overheating

YJ

Recruit
So we went out on the lake this weekend, hoping to do some serious tubing. About 5 minutes after we pulled away from the dock, I hear a loud hissing sound and a cloud of white steam going from every crack in the doghouse - turned out the antifreeze boiled out rather violently and came out of the upper filler cap. I let the engine to cool off, filled out the reservoirs with lake water and went back. By the time we got back to the dock, the engine was running between 175 to 200F. I have never had such a problem before - last time went on the lake a month ago without any issues.

Q: any ideas what might have happened and caused the engine to overheat so rapidly? where do I start to troubleshoot this? I have some experience working on car/truck engines/tranys, but never on the marine stuff - I don't even have a repair manual for this boat. Do the marine systems even have such things as a thermostat? Any help would be appreciated. It's an '87 Searay with 3.7l I/O Mercruiser, 165hp, Alpha One 1st Gen., I believe.

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: 1987 3.7L Mercruiser is overheating

Q: any ideas what might have happened and caused the engine to overheat so rapidly?

When was the last time the raw water pump impeller in the outdrive was replaced. You didn't by chance start the engine without putting water to the drive did you? If so, then it doesn't matter how old the impeller is, it's junk.

Being an overheated 3.7L (aka 470) you may have further problem with a blown head gasket.
Yes, there are service manuals, owners manuals, thermostats, and all sorts of stuff for boat engines and drives.
Here is a thread (actually a sticky) with lots of information.
http://forums.iboats.com/showthread.php?t=288430

You can also download the OEM service manual for your engine HERE, and for your outdrive HERE

YJ

Recruit

Thank you, Don, for your quick response and input.