1985 15 hp johnson won't start b/c out of gear?

johnreidb

Cadet
hello. if you can believe it, i am new to boating.
my 1985 15 hp johnson cranks and runs fine. but from time to time it falls out of gear (or won't shift smoothly?) when the engine is not running. when it is acting up, it sometimes won't shift into forward, it sometimes won't shift into reverse, and it never cranks in neutral. could this be something simple (like a shifting lever problem), or do i need to replace the whole lower unit?
thanks in advance for your time,
john.

bktheking

Vice Admiral
Re: 1985 15 hp johnson won't start b/c out of gear?

It won't shift smoothly and falls out of gear when "not running"?

jtexas

Fleet Admiral

your definition of "cranks and runs fine" is a little different from mine, if it won't crank in neutral, and falls out of gear... ;)

first, shifting while the engine's not running -- you might have to give the flywheel a nudge (clockwise only) to mesh the clutch dog with the drive gears, that's normal. Don't try to force it, you'll break something.

"never cranks in neutral"? meaning you can only start it in gear? should be an easy fix, but we need to know...electric start or rope, control box or tiller?

johnreidb

Cadet

ok, let me try to explain myself a little better. to start, the engine has a manual start (rope) and tiller handle.

sometimes i can push the shift lever to forward, neutral, and reverse when the engine is not running, and i can feel it engage in each of these three positions. when that happens (about half of the time), i can put the engine in neutral and it will crank on the first or second pull of the cord. it runs fine, shifts fine, and idles well under these conditions.