1979 Evinrude 115 Idle Trouble

BoatDr

Seaman
Hey guys, it's my first time posting in the engine forum. I posted a bit last year in the Restoration forum while I was restoring my `66 Starcraft. Now that she's been in the water for about a month this summer, the engine has been having some idle problems. I'm actually down at school, but my little brother has been describing the problems for me. He says that at low RPM's the engine is louder and shakes, then eventually stalls out. At higher speed/RPM's (he estimates ~5 mph), it quiets down and stops shaking. When he guns it, there's a slight delay, like the engine is struggling, and then it accelerates and runs normally. I had him to clean the plugs and clean the carbs with spray carb cleaner, but that didn't fix anything:confused: I included a video he sent me of it stalling out. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks.

-Erik

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ivMP9MO_7MU

Solittle

Fleet Admiral
Re: 1979 Evinrude 115 Idle Trouble

Sounds to me like you need to kick the idle up a bit. What rpms are you at now when in neutral with the boat in the water?

Cleaning the carbs with spray cleaner does nothing other that make what you can see look good. It is the crud in the passages that you cant see that causes problems. I'd adjust the idle rpms before I messed any more with the carbs.

BoatDr

Seaman

Sounds to me like you need to kick the idle up a bit. What rpms are you at now when in neutral with the boat in the water?

Cleaning the carbs with spray cleaner does nothing other that make what you can see look good. It is the crud in the passages that you cant see that causes problems. I'd adjust the idle rpms before I messed any more with the carbs.

It hasn't had any trouble until now. I do a lot of trolling, so I don't want to kick the idle up too much. Not sure of the RPM's...no tach yet...she's a work in progress haha

BoatDr

Seaman

Would a lot of trolling gunk up the carbs?

BoatDr

Seaman