newbie boat owner

lwolford

Recruit
hello to everyone on here, my name is larry from ohio, i am new to the boating thing lol i just bought a 1977 reinell 120 hp 17 ft, could i please get some info on this boat, i want to take my family out on it tommorrow, ive had it in the water a couple of times it seemed to do good, are they good safe boats? i know dont forget the plug!! any and all info would be great, thanks in advance, i am very glad to find this forum, i am a biker dont know much about boating but i want to learn. thanks again. larry.:confused:

Beefer

Lieutenant Commander
Re: newbie boat owner

Hi Larry from Ohio, and welcome to iBoats!

Reinells seem to be decent boats. I have no experience with them personally. Is it safe? It's a s safe as the operator, much like a motorcycle. So, in your best interest, your family's best interest, and other boater's best interest, I would recommend some basic boater safety courses for you (and maybe the Mrs.), as it will add to your boating experience in a positive way.

Yes don't forget the plug. Not that I would ever forget the plug, but I've heard it can be problematic. :D Actually, you can ask my buddy who was with me on my boat last weekend if forgetting the plug can be an issue. Dunno why he would know.....;)

Again, welcome, and most of all, ENJOY!

Juggo

Cadet

Yes don't forget the plug. Not that I would ever forget the plug, but I've heard it can be problematic. :D Actually, you can ask my buddy who was with me on my boat last weekend if forgetting the plug can be an issue. Dunno why he would know.....;)

Again, welcome, and most of all, ENJOY!

LoL. I've forgotten the plug before too. My wife was holding the boat while I parked the car and I came back down and there was 9 inches of water in the back of the boat. I was like WTF can't you see the water in the boat? She was paying attention to something else.

Beefer

Lieutenant Commander