1989 85 hp Force Problems--Need Information Please

redticrunner

Recruit
Hello, Im new to this forum and really need some help. I had a bayliner boat with 1989 85 hp Force motor and trailer give to me by an older gentleman who no longer is in good enough health to deal with it. I have never worked on a Force motor before and am at a loss on what to do with it. The problem is it will turn over fine but it wont fire. I've tried 2 different kind of plugs in it and it still wont fire. I have a cd that has alot of information including wiring diagrams that we have used to trace the wiring down and found we have a neutral interlock switch that is missing one of the two connection posts it is supposed to have.. I have one ordered and hope that helps some. I was told by a few guys that it could be the CD module box, and another guy told me it could be a starter relay. I haven't checked any of those two items yet but plan to asap. If there is anyone that can give me more information on them, I would greatly appreciate it.

foodfisher

Captain
Re: 1989 85 hp Force Problems--Need Information Please

I don't have one but there's talk of a kill switch hooked to a lanyard.

thompy

Petty Officer 2nd Class

first you have to get the netural saftey switch replaced, or you will not have spark if a wire is off on it and in netural

crump

Cadet

I learned of a starting technique on this forum that may help. I was having trouble getting my 85hp Force to start initially.

1. Ensure kill switch is in.
2. If your boat throttle is like mine, you can pull out throttle handle to increase idle speed.
3 When turning key push in at same time, this activates choke on motor. Be ready to pull back throttle when engine starts. you should only need to choke on that initial start up for the day. still may require sometimes.
4. also make sure motor is level due to carburators when starting. Not tilted up.