Newbie ... help, recommend me a boat!

Steve77

Recruit
Hi, I'm new to boating and want to get a boat for the summer. It'd be great if anybody could give me some recommendations for the kinds of boat I should be looking for. Here's what I'm looking for in a boat:

• I'd like a boat that can carry 6-8 people but it needs to be pretty compact (say under 20ft)

• It would need to be easy to handle as I'm a complete beginner, and also as low-maintenance as possible

• I live on a houseboat on lake union in Seattle and would keep the boat there, stored in the water full time (it's fresh water), but I'd mainly be using the boat on lake Washington (also fresh water, but much larger). Occasionally I might go into Puget Sound (salt water)

• To get to my houseboat I need to weave through some tight gaps between other people's boats, so I'd really like a narrow and manoeuvrable boat

• I'd like to be able to ski/wakeboard/tube behind it, but not to such a high level I need a specific wake boat

• I'd be looking to buy a used boat and my budget is $10,000

Thanks loads for any ideas!

lprizman

Chief Petty Officer
Re: Newbie ... help, recommend me a boat!

a Bayliner Capri w/ 80hp Force motor is in your future:D

lprizman

Chief Petty Officer

just kidding
search here and on craiglist or other places. Tons of boats and deals out there,,,just have to find what suits your needs.
To fit that many people on that small of boat I would not recomend,,,but that is me.
Sea trial your selection prior to purchasing and get it professioanally surveyed and or checked out.
Best of luck and let us know how you make out.

mikeroche

Seaman Apprentice

there are all sorts of fish&ski boats out there,i would forget about the 6to8 people,to many, to small of a boat,just to be safe

fat fanny

Lieutenant Commander