volvo help

gimmieaclue

Seaman Apprentice
Hi, sorry about the long post, I'm new to the boating world and recently bought a 17ft open bow with an aq131a engine. Took it out a few times, was VERY hard to start and started sputterin a little bit last time I was out. Read that a Pertronix kit would help with the starts so I put that on, had spark but wouldnt start. Then I seen that the accelerator pump was barely working along with a gasket hanging out the backside of the carb, so I rebuilt the carb (solex).

Now I can barely get the thing to start (not a real suprise considering I went and screwed with the ignition AND the fuel at the same time, kicking myself in the @$$ right now).

I have the carb set to the oem manual starting points and I was able to get a strobe on it long enough to see that the timings about 20 btdc (allthough its hopping around quite a bit) when it should be 6 btdc at 900 rpm. Which way do I turn the distributer (clockwise rotation) to retard the timing? Cant keep it running long enought to turn distributer and check.

Also getting quite a bit of popping out of the carb and the exhaust manifold (which was replaced recently) gets extremely hot even though I have the outrive in a tub of water. I have to stay on the throttle to keep it running, and pretty far into it or it dies, then I have flooded it and the cycle continues.

I'd throw the points back in and start over adjusting the carb but I've allready turned the distributer trying to keep this thing running and fear I'll be fighting the same problem with the timing. Obviously I should have done them (pertronix and carb rebuild) one at a time, lesson learned but now I'm stuck and not really sure where to go from here.

The compressions good (175ish), I have spark (and the correct firing order)and gas. Not sure how to dial it all in. Please help.

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: volvo help

Does your OEM manual say Seloc or Clymers on it?

captmello

Captain