LED lights in floor of bowrider... Do-able? Or potential disaster?

Status
Not open for further replies.

shakman

Recruit
Hello all,

This is my first post and I'm an absolute newbie to boats so please excuse any poor use of jargon on my part.

I've had a Bayliner Capri 1950 Bowrider (not sure what year off the top of my head) for a few years now, purchased second hand. Terrific boat, she hasn't skipped a beat, but she's due for some cosmetic surgery. I've been doing the odd minor update here and there and I've had some success. Now I'm keen to get my teeth stuck right into it and give her a few bells and whistles and a bit of a facelift.

I'm quite handy with tools and electricals on land but my experience with the boat is relatively limited. I need to know my limits. That's how I came across this terrific forum. But it appears my specific conundrum for my most ambitious project yet has yet to be answered here... well not that I could find anyway.

I want to install some LED deck lights down each side of the floor in my Bayliner to give some light during the odd night boating/fishing adventure (and because it would look pretty damn cool).

I've got the wiring covered, tested the circuit with a 12v battery in my garage as per the LEDLightWiring.jpg diagram attached. The lights I intend to use are fully submersible (I've tested this to be sure). They require a hole around 50mm each. They come with some pretty nifty waterproof wiring (which I will need to mod slightly to extend in parts, but not too much). Pics of the lights and the wiring are also attached.

I plan to install four lights down each side of the boat. The locations would be mirrored on each side. I have included an attachment (LEDLightLocations.jpg) showing where I intend to install the lights.