help please

hi my name is Brett i dont no much about boats i am new to it i picked up a 79 mark twain for real cheap i had it out a few times last summer i love the boat it runs great but i was out one day coming back to load it up and it started hoping and losing the forword gear and there is a little water in the lowerend and the gear lube is dripping out it still goes into gear and will move a little but it does not like to it does not make any noise like grinding or anything i am just looking for a little help thank you if you can Brett

Gary H NC

Fleet Admiral
Re: help please

Welcome to Iboats Brett!

It would really help you get more answers if you post what engine and drive is in the boat.

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

Welcome aboard Brett.

First we are going to need a bit more information, type of boat doesn't mean much. Have a read at this thread for what we need.
http://forums.iboats.com/showthread.php?t=220416

Second, a title that might help describe things better than "Help Please"
We already know you want help, just a quick title like OMC pops out of gear, or Mercruiser dies at idle, or Volvo won't start. See what I mean?

it has the i/o mercruiser and the 4 cylnder in it that is all i can tell you intell i can get the snow and cover off of it to find out more

Don S

Being a Mercruiser 4 cylinder narrows things down a lot.
You will need to start by pulling the outdrive and checking the bellows for water. Then drain the gear lube and pressure check the drive.
Since you can't get to it because of the snow, might just head up to the Adults only sticky at the top if this forum and locate the Mercruiser service manuals and download the free manual for your engine and drive. You want manual #1. You should be able to get a lot of the reading done while the snow is melting ;)