need advice buying used bennington

hnicols

Recruit
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I am new to boating (rented pontoons a couple of days each summer) and hate noise, what is better I/O or 4 stroke outboard -- any particular disadvantage to one or the other besides sound? Really would like something that if I am cruising I could still talk and hear others talking

have seen bennington and like them (and the few I have been on) thoughts on the brand -- others I should prefer?

if used, how do you assess price levels -- for example, saw an add for one close by, a 2002 Bennington 2575RL in good condtion FRESH WATER lake boat, Performance Package Tritoon Boat with Water Shield, has approx. 100 hours on the 220 HP Mercruiser I/O,Comes with a Dual Axle Hoosier Trailer with Surge Brakes, Full Canvas, Deluxe Console Package, Deluxe Gauge Package, 2 Pull Out Sun Beds, Center Table, and Depthfinder. Looks ok or better for a 2002 but has the world changed a lot since 2002 and is a price of around 21k or so high low or about right given age, grade and trailor etc?

5150abf

Vice Admiral
Re: need advice buying used bennington

That sounds liek a pretty good proice for that boat, price a new one and you will see what a deal that really is.

That boat new would be 45K+ and it is a Bennington, 100 hours on a motor is nothing, barely broken in.

The maintanence on an I/O is a bit more I think but it would certainly meet your noise requirement.

I actually work for Bennington, getting ready to go in right now as a matter of fact,I ahve taken out company boats and the I/os are really quite, more so than a 4 stroke outboard even, I think you would be very happy with that boat and as I said that sounds like a pretty decnt price.

Other than options and stuff nothing has really changed since 2002 and the Rl was a top line boat anyhow so you would still be pretty currant with that boat.

mla2ofus

Chief Petty Officer