New Boat Question

Dry Diver

Seaman
Hello,

I am looking into purchasing a new boat for the summer. I currently have an Achilles 16' w/40ph merc SS tiler. The boat is a 1984, I think that it is getting tired and that it is time to replace it. I will be using the motor and trailer that I already have for the new boat.

I was thinking about the Saturn SD430. http://boatstogo.com/inflatable_boat_sd430.aspDoes anyone have any personal experience with these boats? If so what are your thoughts.

If not the saturn then I was looking at a boat at www.coastalinflatableboats.com The model there that I was looking at is the XHD430. Does anyone have anyexperience with them as well.

Looking for a general consensus of what people think. I am new to the inflatable world. I will be using the boat for scuba diving. Also what are the thoughts of the wood vs alum floor, pro's and con's? I have a trailer that I will be keeping the boat on. I will not be inflating and deflating. One the boat is aired up it will stay that way.

surfga

Cadet
Re: New Boat Question

I have a Saturn SD385 with the inflatable floor. I really like the boat and we have enjoyed the time we have had with it. I run a 25hp Yamaha 2-stroke which is a good match.

The boats are versatile and boatstogo has lots of cool accessories that make life easier. We have the bimini, underseat storage, and 12v pump from them. I made a seating console from scratch(among many other custom mods), but will still buy the aluminum console they offer before next season. It's a much better design and much lighter than mine. ;-)

I initially bought the boat with the intention of keeping it deflated most of the time, hence the air floor. Now it stays on a trailer full time. If I had to do it over, I would get the aluminum floor that they offer and have gone bigger with the SD430 or SD470.

I wouldn't hesitate to buy another Saturn.

TOHATSU GURU

Admiral