re-fitting water pump housing onto driveshaft?

sweetmarie

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I'll start by wishing those that are into the new year already a prosperous and Happy New Year.

I'm trying to re-fit the water pump assembly back onto the drive shaft of my 1981 15 hp Johnson. Taking it apart was easy (although I lost the key for the impeller when it flew off). Now I can't seem to fit it all together. I've got the pump assembled and bolted on the bottom end but how can I slide it onto the shaft and keep the key in the slot and on the shaft?
Do I have to disconnect the drive shaft at the top?

I'm not a mechanic by trade as you can tell, thanks for some input.

SM

Vic.S

Rear Admiral
Re: re-fitting water pump housing onto driveshaft?

Yes pull the drive shaft from the crankshaft (not easy sometimes). Refit it to the gearcase (take care not to damage the seals ... Now is a wise time to change them anyway) then reassemble the pump by sliding the parts down the shaft.

Lightly grease the splines on the top of the drive shaft to prevent it seizing/rusting into the crankshaft again.

See the item on the "Engine Frequently asked questions" board about 15hp and 9.9hp engines for just about every thing you'll ever need to know.

Has the impeller key damaged the pump casing or are you replacing it anyway? It should have held the shaft into the Lu and allowed it to pull out of the crankshaft when you dismantled it!

bktheking

Vice Admiral

I'll start by wishing those that are into the new year already a prosperous and Happy New Year.

I'm trying to re-fit the water pump assembly back onto the drive shaft of my 1981 15 hp Johnson. Taking it apart was easy (although I lost the key for the impeller when it flew off). Now I can't seem to fit it all together. I've got the pump assembled and bolted on the bottom end but how can I slide it onto the shaft and keep the key in the slot and on the shaft?
Do I have to disconnect the drive shaft at the top?