Lieutenant Commander
Re: do boaters help boaters?

Since I'm new to boating I haven't had the opportunity
to help any one yet but I wouldn't hesitate. As already
mentioned "pay it forward" is the way to go. It really
seems to work, at least for me. My whole life I have
always helped others and people have helped me just
when I needed it the most.

I think it somewhat depends on where you live too.
Here in small town America most people on the lakes
wave and are friendly. In my own experience it seems
like the farther south you go the friendlier people are
to total strangers.

CheapboatKev

Vice Admiral

In October when I launched my Starcraft for the first time..I picked a secluded little out of the way ramp..

There was a few elderly men and women sitting on the dock, in chairs enjoying the late afternoon..

I had Diane in the boat as I backed down..(nervous but did a pretty good job)

As I got deeper down the ramp, they came over and commented on my boat (always nice!) and secondly told Diane to toss them the bow and stern lines and they helped tie her up as I parked the trailer..

I explained I was just going to go up and down the river and make sure I dont sink..They said OK we'll be watching for you..

When we came back in it was just after dusk, they stayed and waited to make sure we came back OK.

They helped us tie up again and I got the trailer.
There was a couple kids in a jon boat that came up to the dock that had been behind us on the way in..

One of the young kids mentioned that I should turn on the stern light at dusk..Very politely and I thanked him..

The kids also guided me back in till I was deep enough to retrieve and everybody waived as I pulled her out.

For being away from boats and launching for almost 20 years..They all made a stressfull day very memorable!

captharv

Petty Officer 2nd Class

I am retired Coast Guard Auxilairy, after 26 years and over 250 documented assists.