In the nick of time

rtark

Cadet
A few days ago I posted a message asking questions about wiring up a buzzer/horn for my 40 yamerhammer tillar. This after I realized it had no kind of warning device. Well, I wired in a horn after getting help on this forum and today I went fishing and ran about 2 miles, stopped and fished for a couple hours, froze out and headed back to the ramp when all of a sudden that loud horn started blowing. I shut it down, waited a few minutes wondering what the h---. Started it back up and there was no water from the pee hole. I trolled 2 miles to the ramp, got home and sure nuff, the waterpump took a dump. I have been running that motor for 6 yrs without a warning horn without a problem, then 2 days after I put one in it saves my motor from a meltdown...After reading my recently purchased Seloc manual, I rebuilt the waterpump. That was a piece of cake...Thanks a lot to this forum and especially to 99Yam...Ray

99yam40

Fleet Admiral
Re: In the nick of time

Glad you made it back OK. I take it you used your electric trolling motor to get back, 2 miles will take its toll on the batteries.
Did the motor go into the safe mode when the alarm started sounding?
When was the last time you changed the water pump before this?
You are better off changing it every year or two like Yamaha says to.
I have seen the impellers loose a few vanes pumping some water but not enough and some that the rubber just broke free from the center collar, not pumping anything at higher RPM but moved water at low RPM. It is best to replace before you have a problem.

rtark

Cadet