Merc 1100ss 68 prop seals??

Oldmerc1100ss

Recruit
Hi all, im new to this stuff , but do know bit with outboards. Anyways i have found that my prop seal is way stuffed (dry and brittle) from past owners lack of maintance and leaking , milky fluid ect. My question is , does my merc only have 1 prop seal as i have only removed 1 , Then it shows the alloy case that the seal was in front of? Though some other forums i have read say that there are 2 seals , or is it just because my motor is older and they changed design on the legs? Any advice would be great :cool:
Cheers Scotty

emckelvy

Commander
Re: Merc 1100ss 68 prop seals??

Nope, that gearcase is the same as the other Inlines etc and there are (2) seals in there. The most forward seal is installed with its lips facing towards the oil-containing parts of the gearcase; the outer seal has its lips facing the water side (lookin' right atcha!).

Once the outer seal is removed you're going to see the metal face (or rubber-bonded face) of the inner seal, not the spring-loaded rubber lips. So with grease crude etc it may have not been obvious that a seal's in there. If you're truly looking at the aluminum of the propshaft/bearing carrier, someone has probably messed things up. There's enough room in the bearing carrier for the (2) correct propshaft seals to be pressed in.

Here's a link to a good diagram for your lower unit:

http://www.mercruiserparts.com/Show...bnbr=17&bdesc=GEAR+HOUSING+ASSEMBLY,+COMPLETE

Ref. #73, part # 26-76868, "OIL SEAL, BEARING CARRIER", is what you're looking for.

The equivalent Sierra Marine part is 18-2002, check it out here (BTW I did look at iboats store and found a listing for this part, showing discontinued):

http://www.boatfix.com/bypartnosierraag.asp?partno=18-2002

HTH..........ed

Oldmerc1100ss

Recruit