Johnson 5.5HP with no spark???

MNBoater130

Recruit
Hi guys,

I am new to this fourm but there seems to be alot of boating knowledge
here so I thought I would ask you guys about my Johnson outboark with no spark.
I recently purchased a 1955 Johnson 5.5 Hp Model CD-12. I replaced the
points and condensers and also the coils because they were old and cracked.
I set the points gap to .020 and the points seem to be opening and closing just fine. I connected the green wire from the coils to the insulated terminal on the points and the black wire to the screw that mounts the coil. I connected the condenser wire to the insulated terminal on the points with the green wire from the coil. I even cleaned the contacts on the points with contact cleaner and a business card ( this is what the shop that sold me the points and coils said to do). I put in new NGK B6S plugs and gapped them. After all this I still have no spark. If anyone has any ideas on why I'm
not getting any spark I would appreciate the help.

Thanks,

Pat

F_R

Supreme Mariner
Re: Johnson 5.5HP with no spark???

Hi guys,

I am new to this fourm but there seems to be alot of boating knowledge
here so I thought I would ask you guys about my Johnson outboark with no spark.
I recently purchased a 1955 Johnson 5.5 Hp Model CD-12. I replaced the
points and condensers and also the coils because they were old and cracked.
I set the points gap to .020 and the points seem to be opening and closing just fine. I connected the green wire from the coils to the insulated terminal on the points and the black wire to the screw that mounts the coil. I connected the condenser wire to the insulated terminal on the points with the green wire from the coil. I even cleaned the contacts on the points with contact cleaner and a business card ( this is what the shop that sold me the points and coils said to do). I put in new NGK B6S plugs and gapped them. After all this I still have no spark. If anyone has any ideas on why I'm