Bad Compression

swick

Petty Officer 1st Class
Just bought a 1999 120 hp Force. Compression test was 150 on 3 and 70 on the last. The engine is ultra clean, no signs of overheating, no paint chipped off, no gunk anywhere, no water in the oil. The prop has a pretty tore up blade on it, looks like the previous owner hit a boulder. Any suggestions or idea? I'm new at this so not sure what I got myself into yet. Thanks.

Oh yeah, the motor sat for at least a year and a half before it was run last and the owner said it worked fine (he had no reason to lie he told that to the repo man). I syphoned out most of the gas, could it be just build up or something simple? Can I put new fuel in it and get lucky?

sho3boater

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: Bad Compression

Does not sound good. I would look in there at the walls for scoring, especially the exhaust side. Check the plug for metal particles. You can try to loosen carboned rings with seafoam or something, that sounds low for stuck rings but who knows.

john from md

Commander

Before taking anything apart, read the FAQ in the front of the maintenance forums and look for the Decarbing procedure. Do the process a couple of times, leaving it sit in the engine overnight if possible. After that, check your compression again.

Also, look at the thread called Waking up a sleeping engine in the same FAQ as your engine has sat a while.

John

swick

Petty Officer 1st Class

Okay so my problems are much worse. The compression initially read 150, 150, 150, & 80 (I know I said 70 before, I read it wrong).

I syphoned out most of the bad gas. I added 5 gallons of new fuel 50:1. Also added a bottle of Sea Foam to the fuel. Sprayed a little lubricant into the bad cylinder. The compression test hadn't changed at all.