Mercury might leave WI

Status
Not open for further replies.

tx1961whaler

Vice Admiral
Re: Mercury might leave WI

Wow. Guess a lot of people there are going to find out what looking for a job in a bad economy is like.....sad for those that wanted to stay employed.

"If Mercury Marine, a subsidiary of Lake Forest, Ill.-based Brunswick Corp., shuts down the Fond du Lac plant, it would mean an annual loss of $353 million in workers earnings and an additional 5,900 in lost jobs due to the impact on suppliers, government and business in the area, according to the Fond du Lac County Economic Development Corp."

I've never felt "entitled" to a job. Even though I have a lot of experience and a few college degrees, I still always realize that I'm an employee of a company unless I decide to open one myself. I also know that it is not a publicly traded company's main purpose to keep people employed. The folks in WI should know that they are in competition with the other factories in a very slow sales time and act accordingly.

Bob_VT

Moderator & Unofficial iBoats Historian
Staff member

Read the entire story. Mercury will continue in WI until this contract runs out in a couple of years. I believe there is adequate time for people changed their minds and alter the decisions. This is not going to be a shut down and move this week, this year or even next year.

BoatBuoy

Rear Admiral

Ayuh,.... I think you mean,...
"the difference being that an Unions cannot make union membership a requirement of employment"....

Employers have No say in it....They forced to accept Unions in Non-Right to Work states....