"Slim" 2-Pole Breakers

i386

Captain
I'm setting up a workshop and thinking ahead...

I think it would be better to run the bigger shop tools on 240V. I have one single-pole breaker with nothing on it. Thinking about putting in a 20A 2-pole slim breaker in that spot and running some 12 guage for a few 24V outlets.

I've never used the slim breakers before. Anyone have anything bad to say about 'em? Do they get hot? This is a small shop. None of the big tools need to be ran at the same time.

Andy in NY

Commander
Re: "Slim" 2-Pole Breakers

I'm setting up a workshop and thinking ahead...

I think it would be better to run the bigger shop tools on 240V. I have one single-pole breaker with nothing on it. Thinking about putting in a 20A 2-pole slim breaker in that spot and running some 12 guage for a few 24V outlets.

I've never used the slim breakers before. Anyone have anything bad to say about 'em? Do they get hot? This is a small shop. None of the big tools need to be ran at the same time.

You cannot do what you propose. most things that operate on 240 are high amperage devices and require dedicated circuits.

Besides, most things that require 240 ate at least 30 amp... not saying that there arent any 20 amp, but MOST require at least 30.

Wiring like what you are talking about is alot more involved than you think it is... if you panel is that full then you either have a small panel (which would most likely only be rated for 100 amps) or alot of circuits.

In a perfect world you would have your panel upgraded to a bigger one and have your service upgraded to 200 amp if you dont already have it. then, run a 60 amp sub panel to your shop.

ridefst

Seaman Apprentice

There's no such thing as a two pole slim breaker.
Both outputs from that slim breaker will be from the same leg of the box, so it will not be possible to get 240V across the two.
The only way to get 240V is to use up two spaces in the box.