Palm Beach Boating

bustermin

Banned
Hi all, i am new to boating and just purchased my first new (to me) boat. i have a 1985 Critchfield 17 Foot Center Console with a 1984 Chrysler 75hp outboard. is this big enough to take thru any of the local inlets? so far i have only been cruising around the intracoatal mostly the Lake Worth Lagoon. any help or advice wopuld be greatly appreciated . thanks

eli_lilly

Chief Petty Officer
Re: Palm Beach Boating

Hi all, i am new to boating and just purchased my first new (to me) boat. i have a 1985 Critchfield 17 Foot Center Console with a 1984 Chrysler 75hp outboard. is this big enough to take thru any of the local inlets? so far i have only been cruising around the intracoatal mostly the Lake Worth Lagoon. any help or advice wopuld be greatly appreciated . thanks

I think I saw it here recently: "Don't know, don't go". But the Lake Worth Inlet is probably the easiest in South Florida and I am sure that you could go out of it without any drama.

-E

bustermin

Banned

yea! that is definatly the way i was thinking, not having alot of experience at boating i figured better to look good in the intracoastal than look stupid in the inlet! i have also heard that the lake worth/boynton inlet is the calmest, but still wasnt sure not as worried about the current as i am the part where the inlet meets the ocean, looks pretty rough. thanks

maldoro

Seaman

Lake worth inlet is the best! I have a 20ft flat bottom and been out many times. Jupiter can get tough at times and boynton is a huge no-no. One time I was coming in at Boynton on a flat day and a drift boat was coming out. I was full throttle and going backwards...not good and never again. never had a problem in the lake worth inlet. In fact i have gone out on larger days and realized it was too rough. Just don't turn around in the inlet, go out and come back in.

bustermin

Banned